I am using the target by upload user list feature and I upload the file after clicking on "Explore users" to check the intended audience of the message I still see a list of all app users and not only the ones in the uploaded file. Is this expected?
Yes, this is expected. The "Explore users" option does not take in to account the contents of the file. Rest assured that the message will be sent only to the users specified in the CSV file.